PDA

View Full Version : PADI Divemaster Swim Test Times

Warby
07-30-2007, 23:38
Hi Everyone,

I'm currently studying for my PADI Divemaster and am trying to find out the times that the points are awarded for completing the 400yd, 800yd, 100yd tow and the 15 mins tread water. I realize that the points awarded are 1-5 but need to know the times associated with each discipline. I need to know how much pool work to put in!

Thanks in advance!

Warby

ScubaSteve
07-31-2007, 19:44
Unless they've changed...

You must score a combined 12 points or greater. So, in other words you can't get by with a 2 on every skill.

400 yd swim:
< 6 min. - 5 points
6 - 8 min - 4 points
8 - 10 min - 3 points
10 - 12 min - 2 points
>12 - 1 points

15 min tread (hands out last 2 min):
completed - 5 points
completed, but hands not out last 2 min - 3 points
used side/bottom momentarily no more than twice - 1 points

800 yd snorkel:
< 13 - 5 points
13 - 15 - 4 points
15 - 17 - 3 points
17 - 19 -2 points
>19 - 1 points

100 yd tow:
< 2 - 5
2 - 3 - 4 points
3 - 4 - 3 points
4 -5 - 2 points
> 5 - 1 points

ScubyDoo
07-31-2007, 20:35
ScubaSteve has posted the times required for each point level. The only things I would add from my experience would be...

1. Pace yourself on all long swims. If you go out too fast, you WILL run out of gas. I run marathons so I know a thing or two about endurance.

2. Don't swim on a full stomach. You will regret it. Eat a moderate meal about 2 hours before your swim. This allows enough time for the food to be broken down, processed, and exchanged to energy. If you feel you need some extra energy before your swim, eat a banana (potassium keeps cramps at bay). Staying hydrated will also keep away cramps. Drink gatorade that day with your meals. You can also eat some energy gels (Hammer Gel or Gu Gel are popular) about 30 minutes prior to your swim. It will take your body about 30 minutes to process and absorb them.