PDA

View Full Version : How to calculate number of dives

NeurosurgeryNP
03-09-2008, 11:36
I am a novice diver. I was wondering how you calculate the number of dives you ave gone on - i.e. - a 4 hour boat trip with two dives, 2 tanks - does that count as two dives or a single dive in your log book? I know it is a silly question, but after getting certified over 8 years ago, I am just now getting back into diving after refreshing.

crosseyed95
03-09-2008, 11:47
I am a novice diver. I was wondering how you calculate the number of dives you ave gone on - i.e. - a 4 hour boat trip with two dives, 2 tanks - does that count as two dives or a single dive in your log book? I know it is a silly question, but after getting certified over 8 years ago, I am just now getting back into diving after refreshing.

Welcome back to diving!! To answer your question, if you did two dives off the boat then you would record this as two dives in your log book. Doesn't matter that you only took one trip with the boat or that it was a 4 hour boat trip. You still put your equipment on twice, splashed off the boat twice, safely came up twice, etc.

IrishSquid
03-09-2008, 12:20
If you're using a computer, most will log the dives as 1, 2, 3, . . . . . .
I use an Aeris and unless I'm at the surface for more than a few minutes, it is one dive.

NeurosurgeryNP
03-09-2008, 12:50
Thanks for your replies. I know that the question is silly! :smiley29: I just wanted to know how to log each dive in my logbook.

NoTime58
03-09-2008, 15:56
Thanks for your replies. I know that the question is silly! :smiley29: I just wanted to know how to log each dive in my logbook.

Logging each dive after I get back on the boat helps me to remember the dive better. If I forget something I can always ask my dive buddy for a little memory refresher.

Zenagirl
03-09-2008, 16:16
Your question isn't silly at all. To answer you another way, you've done 1 charter and 2 dives....so you log it as 2 dives.

h2odragon1