PDA

View Full Version : First shark experience

carriersanders
03-13-2008, 16:00
I am so curious about shark experiences...I am new at diving and haven't seen a shark yet...Is it terrifying?...Do you get over being scared after the first one? :smiley5:

RoyN
03-13-2008, 16:35
I saw my first leopard shark in California, I didn't see one, but two and they were in love and swimming side by side! :smiley27::snill:

Otherwise, my suggestion is sit back, stay out of the way, and the watch the beautiful sight! You may not see it as those fish are heading toward extinction. :smiley19:

cmburch
03-13-2008, 16:52
I saw a small angle shark sitting on the bottom in Monterey Bay. My wife saw a Great White hit a female elephant seal from Aņo Nuevo Island. It was in between the island and shore - an unusual place for a Great White. I've seen leopard sharks when swimming near piers. I have even caught them when fishing.

cummings66
03-13-2008, 16:54
I am so curious about shark experiences...I am new at diving and haven't seen a shark yet...Is it terrifying?...Do you get over being scared after the first one? :smiley5:

I have never seen a shark, but I can answer your question "Is it terrifying?". The answer is, does that type of thing scare you intensely? If so I'd say yes it is. Do you get over it? Depends on you, how do you handle things that scare you above the water?

You are not going to change under water, if you're afraid of animals above it that can eat you, you will be scared of them below as well. If you respect them above then you will do so below.