PDA

View Full Version : Diving to Live Again

Silentseas
07-31-2007, 14:48
Diving is a great sport. I have been diving for over 10 years myself. But for those who have never dove, this new experience can be used not only as a new hobby, but as a way to encourage those who are down, to get back up and live again.

Greetings from Maine. My husband recently beat throat cancer a few years back, but the extensive hospital time left him weak and down hearted. He often felt like he had nothing to look forward to on a day to day basis. He didnt know how to occupy his time. Fear and worry kept him from moving forward in life.

After giving my husband a few videos on scuba diving and explaining to him my passion for the hobby and the beauty that it contained, I was shocked to see for the first time in years that he was really excited about getting involved in something and simply living again.

The thought of exploring a new unknown that did not involved tubes, chemo, radiation and heartache was enough to make my husband's fading light begin to shine again. This coming week he has decided to go down and check out a dive center in our state. I look forward to this trip, as I know it will help that kindling fire burn brighter than ever.

I feel good that my life-long passion for diving has inspired my husband to live again. I hope that we all can take time to inspire others who have fallen along the roadside and byways due to illness, depression and other maladies so that they may realize there are still many worlds to explore despite the bad things that sometimes happen.

My husband will now see what I see; the amazing and breath taking aquatic beauty that our amazing planet has to offer. Thank God that he has chosen to dive into the unknown and no longer wishes to simply give up on hope and close his eyes on this world forever.

I would love to hear how diving has inspired others.

Moxie
07-31-2007, 14:52