PDA

View Full Version : Best wetsuits for petite women

dixonju
03-17-2008, 14:24
Hello everyone- I'm new to the diving world and just starting to purchase the basics. One of my various problems is that I am quite petite, 4'10" and around 100lbs. I am interested in purchasing a wetsuit and have tried on a 7/5 Henderson Hyperstretch...in size 10 junior! (Not sure about that one...anyway..) I have two issues that I am hoping someone can help me with here...

1. I keep reading that folks are able to throw the hyperstretch on and off in 10 seconds?!?! Seriously? The guys at my LDS would bet the farm that the junior size 10 (versus the 12 that had "gaps") was the best fit...but it took me 15 minutes to get that thing on....is that normal?? Other brands or types that I should consider for my size?

2. I'm going to Roatan in a month. Water temp I've been told is around 84 F, however, I am very cold natured. The rep at my LDS kept pushing the 7/5 on me...however, I can't help but think that may be a bit much in 84 degree water..even with my propensity to chill. Any thoughts? As a newbie I am going to start slow and stick to warm water diving. I was thinking a 5/3 was more appropriate but wanted some thoughts.

Thank you so much!

Foo2
03-17-2008, 14:59
About finding a good fit for a wetsuit....I'm afraid I can't help you much. (I'm huge compared to you, 5'3" 113lbs) :) But FYI, I do wear a bare suit.

But I do have an opinion about the thickness of wetsuit that you will need in Roatan. I also am very cold natured, but a 7/5 in 84d water is too much. In my opinion, a 5/3 might still be a little much. A 3/2 would probably be perfect. That being said, a 5/3 is not a bad purchase. You can use it in various temperatures. A 5/3 is next on my own shopping list. :) Of course, everyone gets cold differently. At your LDS, do you have the option to try a wetsuit in a heated pool before you purchase?

Osprey
03-17-2008, 16:52