PDA

View Full Version : Who Pays for Repair Clinic?

talonraid
03-31-2008, 23:45
Since I'm new to working in the dive industry, I'm still trying to figure this creature out.

One of my latest puzzles is who should pay for a repair clinic? The LDS that I work for asked me to go to a repair clinic to become a technician. That's great! That's one of the things I've been wanting to do. Then after I agreed they informed me that tuition, travel and room and board were on my own dime (sound of screeching breaks).

Is this how it's usually done for employees of a dive shop? I still want to go, but it's my employer who stands to make the greatest profit from me working on gear. Shouldn't they either pay for or supplement the cost of training?

I honestly don't know how this is normally handled, so if anyone KNOWS how it usually, works I would really appreciate your input.

Thanks.

navyhmc
03-31-2008, 23:55
I have seen it both ways. I would say that if the shop wants you to go to the clinic on your dime, then you need to negotiate a better deal on you cut of the fees for repairs. Around these parts, service costs $65-70/hour plus parts. If you are paying for the class yourself, you need to get a good deal I am figuring that your cost depending on wher eyou are and where the class is could be in the area of $1500 as a swag. That's a lot of cost for the shop to idly think that you will cover, especially if their going ot profit from it.

texdiveguy
04-01-2008, 00:24
I have seen it both ways....the LDS I worked for had us pretty much cover the cost of of our pockets.

talonraid
04-01-2008, 07:36
Hmmm,

Thanks guys. Well, it's gonna cost me gas, a hotel, food and the tuition. I figure the whole ticket will be in the neighborhood of $600-800 dollars depending on where I can find a hotel. And, it's a couple of day of no paycheck to boot. It's a 5 hour drive for me to get to Houston, but that will still cost me a good $150 in gas by the time the trip is done.