PDA

View Full Version : Getting certified in September from Baton Rouge

nferra2
08-01-2007, 20:35
Hi, I am new to the scuba world. I have been researching and stumbled accross this website. I am glad to see a LDS embracing the online world rather than shunning anyone that uses a computer. I went to my local LDS and I was shunned for telling them I was going to get certified while on vacation in Pensacola (from a shop that I have recieved High recomendations for). I was planning on buying fins, boots, mask and snorkel there for two so we could make sure everything fit before our vacation, but I guess they weren't interested in my money since I wasn't taking the class there. Glad to be here and I hope I can learn some basics before I make the plunge.

Nick

Wolfie2012
08-01-2007, 20:37
It's disappointing whenever I hear LDS stories like that, but unfortunately it's quite common.

Glad to have you around here though, I'm sure you'll enjoy the time spent! :)

Illini_Fan
08-01-2007, 20:52
Welcome, to both Scuba diving and ScubaToys.

Moxie
08-01-2007, 21:22
Hi nferra2! I'm sorry to hear about your not so great experience with a local dive shop. But welcome to the boards and to ScubaToys!

Foo2
08-02-2007, 09:53
Welcome to the boards nferra2! Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the LDS. That really sucks and they missed out on a sale! People can be so silly. Anyway, welcome!

nferra2
08-05-2007, 20:59
Well, I did discover a smaller shop in the area that is much better than the first. I already made arrangements with a dive shop in pensacola so I will stick with them, but now I won't have so far to go if I want to up my certification (nitrox, advance).

crosseyed95
08-05-2007, 21:23