PDA

View Full Version : first reg

KACY
05-03-2008, 00:13
ok, so I am an advanced diver and am just beginning my SSI assistant instructor training. ergo, i have to buy my own gear. I already have some crap gear that I have been using, little better than rental, and am looking at getting my next piece of equipment to be a regulator. The shop i am going to work for asks us to have gear that is available at our store (oceanic, aqualung, apeks). I am a college student so I dont have to money to get the top of the line, but i do want something that I can use for the next while. I am going to be instructing in the pool and warm water, but recreational in some deep and colder water. any advice/suggestions. been looking at the oceanic GT3, how does that compare to alpha 8. Also, has anyone used apeks before any thoughts on the xtx40 as opposed to the xtx50?

Black-Gorrilla
05-03-2008, 02:36
the oceanic cdx5/gt3 is a nice reg. i bought one last x-mas and have used it and like it. has nice features and is well made. 0 problems so far. cost of it is not bad either.
i was shopping for some Apeks regs (just wanna spend money i guess)
i like the way they make their stuff and they have a bug tech following...

Apeks is more expensive than Oceanic (even used....) and you said you don't wanna spend a lot.

wolfen42
05-03-2008, 18:57
I've been looking at the same set of regulators and they bundle the alpha 8 with the cdx-5 now so maybe that would be a good option pricewise.

BSea
05-03-2008, 20:29
I can't remember the price difference, but it is nice to have the adjustable 2nd stage like the xtx50. I have the DS4 with the xtx50 2nd. I really like the reg. Now I've never used a 40, but I have had non adjustable regs in the past, and never had any complaints. So, if the money is tight, get the 40, It's a great reg.

terrillja
05-03-2008, 21:17