PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Pony Bottle

TRACI
05-14-2008, 10:02
I know this question probably has already been asked a bunch, but I did a search and could not find anything.

I am not really interested in carrying a spare air, but would like a pony bottle. What is the most efficient size (preferrebly smaller), I have been considering a 6 cu, and I am also looking a setup that is not too expensive.

I am just a novice diver, I do not do any dives that are too deep, maybe 60 - 90 or so ft.

h2odragon1
05-14-2008, 10:12
13 cuft is a good size for your 60-90 ft dives. as always;keep an eye on your guages, and stick to your dive plan.

DOWNDEEP73
05-14-2008, 10:14
I would go with a 13cf or a 19cf. They are not that much more...and you will have more spare air....and that is a good thing.

TRACI
05-14-2008, 10:43
The more I have read looks like a 13 or 19 would be better, is there any problems traveling with either?

ratown
05-14-2008, 10:46
You will probably have to empty it and take the valve off on an airplane.

Sounder
05-14-2008, 11:17
As a novice diver, I highly recommend the following reading. Understanding this will help you determine how much volume of redundant gas you need for the diving profiles you do. It'll also let you know how much gas you and your buddy need to carry incase the other one has a problem.

I seriously recommend this reading. It's no nonsense facts that will change the way you approach dive planning and which will keep you safer in the water.

Rock Bottom and Gas Management for Recreational Divers (http://www.scriptkiddie.org/diving/rockbottom.html)

No Misses
05-14-2008, 11:18
The question of pony bottle size comes up often.
Here are the questions that you need to ask yourself:
1. What is my SAC (Surface Air Consumption) Rate? My SAC rate is ~.6 cf per minute, so I will use that in the following calculations.
2. How deep to I plan to dive? Conver this to ATA for the calculations. (66 fsw = 3 ATA, 99 fsw = 4 ATA)