PDA

View Full Version : wetsuits for women

saltwater newbie
08-05-2007, 19:15
thanks Larry -- now that my boyfriend has officially called me out ...can anyone tell me whether there is a wetsuit that shaves 10 pounds off my butt??? Ok...seriously, I am a newbie and I am struggling with the wetsuit purchase. Are the women's wetsuits truly a better fit for women or does it really matter? I am also trying to figure out what mill to get as a starter suit. We are diving in the keys in mid october but my guess is that the majority of rest of my dives will be primarily in the caribbean. I am not a cold blooded person. ....and about that dive toe nail polish.....????

dallasdivergirl
08-05-2007, 19:23
i am a total warm water wuss & i normally wear a 3 mil shorty with short or long sleeves. i was in roatan in October and i was pretty warm.

i am totally lost with the dive toe nail polish. i do get a good pedicure right before i leave and put on 3 or 4 coats of clear & i never have problems.

saltwater newbie
08-05-2007, 19:32
thanks for the response - this forum started at the request of my boyfriend because he was tired of trying to answer my girl body questions from his male body perspective.....the nail polish comment started out as joke, but I appreciate the tip all the same.

I see you are from Illinois. Have you ever been to the Superman festival in metropolis (I think that is in Illinois...or heck, maybe it is Ohio...)

Have you ever tried the front zip wetsuits? how about a farmer jane?

Athena2c
08-05-2007, 19:33
I would say that you do want the women's wetsuit-it does make a difference.
I've been very comfortable with a 1/2 or 1mm suit for the April/May Caribbean diving I've done, but am opting for a 3mm for the Bahamas liveaboard in January.

I don't know about dive toe nail polish, but I did get a dive flag pedicure for my wedding last year-a barefoot on the beach affair. It was a special request from hubby
:smiley4:

cutter77
08-05-2007, 19:35