PDA

View Full Version : A New PC

bfisher
06-03-2008, 21:11
We need to get some action on this forum so I'll as a question, being a new member.

I'm also new to video and finding it hard, frustrating, work intensive, but rewarding. One of my problems is that I am slowly working my way into doing HD and will have to get a new computer. Please don't say "Get a MAC". That isn't happening. Here's just one of a couple that has my interest.

Dell Inspiron
Windows Vista Premium w/ SP1
Intel Core 2 Quad 6600 processor
2GB of DDR2 800ram (can add more)
500G HD (7200rpm)
ATI radeon HD 2400 pro graphics
16X DVD +/- RW
19" wide screen flat panel monitor

I already have an external DVD burner w/Litescribe. I also plan on getting a 1TB hard drive to store my video. I may hook this thing up in my living room and use my 40" HDTV for a monitor.

So if you know much about video editing tell me how this would work doing standard def for now.

I'm on bit of a budget and this is $960, new from Dell.

DIdiver
06-03-2008, 21:27
Well, I use a Mac. I am sure the Dell will do fine in between the reboots.:smiley20:

Trainacomin
06-05-2008, 16:07
I'd add 2 more gb's of memory.
I use Premiere Pro to edit and it takes a lot of space because it saves the last three versions of your project. So plan a lot of space to edit.

As for storage I be sure to at least have my drives mirrored just in case you lose one. That or backup all raw files to a dvd.

Other than that you should be fine to edit SD video.

waytooslow
06-05-2008, 16:30
Well, I use a Mac. I am sure the Dell will do fine in between the reboots.:smiley20:

hehehe - funny stuff

reactive
06-05-2008, 18:41
I use a mac also, but all my work machines are dell. If I could convince you to buy a mac, I would tell you that it will change your life (for the better) but unforuntately, mac's are expensive and probably won't meet your budget. They are pretty proud of their stuff.