PDA

View Full Version : Pretty colors!

Merjester
06-04-2008, 23:51
Hello,
I'm a newb and am almost finished with my PADI certification. I the videos I've noticed that most of the people have all of their gear in coordinating colors. Does anyone know where to get the custom colors for computer/gauges/regulators etc? Or was that just for the video? I think it would be pretty cool to have a customized setup, maybe it's cause I'm a girl ;)

freeski4ever
06-05-2008, 01:30
Starting in the late 1970s, and throughout the 80s and 90s, there was a standing rule in scuba diving... As long as you are color coordinated, you are immune from shark bites, sting ray strikes, jellyfish, and all other diver related accidents. The most important factor in scuba diving is that your mask, snorkel, fins, BC, and reg are color coordinated!!

Geoff_T
06-05-2008, 01:58
Starting in the late 1970s, and throughout the 80s and 90s, there was a standing rule in scuba diving... As long as you are color coordinated, you are immune from shark bites, sting ray strikes, jellyfish, and all other diver related accidents. The most important factor in scuba diving is that your mask, snorkel, fins, BC, and reg are color coordinated!!

hmm that must make me somthing akin to chum then.

badfrog88
06-05-2008, 07:10
Now to answer the OP's question...:smiley36:

You can have color coordinated gear, it might just take some extra work to find the matching pieces. The easiest way would be to buy all your gear at one time from the same manufacturer. You will be limited to the color choices available at the time you buy. For example: Purple and green (kind of a lime green as I recall) was a very popular color combination at one time. I bought a purple cover for my primary regulator and Mares Plana Avanti fins (they called them amethyst). It is almost impossible to find that combination now, it seems. As for "custom" colors, I don't think it would be possible without spending a lot of money.

mselizann