PDA

View Full Version : New Camera Housing

CHT
06-07-2008, 09:11
I've got a quick quesion. I would like to add that this is my first camera housing and I am a novice. I bought a camera housing for my Canon A630 which is rated to 130'. I went to Cozumel with it checked it out at home and when I got there....no leaks. I went diving first dive around 60ft no leaks...to make a long story short every dive after that there started with a few drops of water in the casing and more and more every dive after that. After the last time I took it there was quite a bit of water in the housing. Not enough to ruin the camera but quite a bit. When I started noticing water in the housing I pulled the O-ring and checked for salt deposits and added a little more silicone. Other notes are that the deeper I went 80-100ft the more water got in the housing. The shallower I stayed not so much. I also didn't have any moisture munchers in the housing. So after all that my LOL quick question is "Is this normal?" I can see a little condensation forming from not having the moisture munchers but this was a little more than the average condensation.

Any tips advice would be welcome.

Thanks

DevilDiver
06-07-2008, 12:07
"Drops of water" would mean you have a leak somewhere. There should be no water at all.
Condensation is possible if you are in a warm moist climate or you take your kit from an air conditioned room to the heat outside, as your camera is left on when diving and heats up it can cause the casing to fog as well, this is where the moisture munchers help out, not so much with a leak.

Most likely there is some debris either on the O ring or in the groove of the housing. If you have access to a pool (10 ft plus would be ideal) tie the empty housing off to a weight and submerge for 30 min or so and inspect for drops. If you have cleaned the O ring and housing and can find no other reasons you can try to return to the manufacture for testing.....

Good luck!

CHT
06-08-2008, 22:19