PDA

View Full Version : Padi or SSI?

kahoots
06-14-2008, 13:25
I think both are recognized worldwide however, i see a lot more resorts especially in the cayman islands have padi. will they give me any problems when i show up with an ssi certificate?

thanks

chinacat46
06-14-2008, 13:30
If you got a c-card it really shouldn't matter what agency it's from.

kahoots
06-14-2008, 13:34
If you got a c-card it really shouldn't matter what agency it's from.

Which company do you prefer? Which do you learn more in?

chinacat46
06-14-2008, 13:41
Since I'm a PADI instructor I'm biased but it really is the instructor not the agency.

ScubaToys Larry
06-14-2008, 13:42
I prefer the Naui courses... SSI has a good program also. Some complain the Padi programs are a bit too simplified - but if you search Padi Naui SSI on this forum, you will find a ton of posts - and the over riding comment is the individual instructor makes a much larger difference than the acronym on the card.

rumblefish
06-14-2008, 14:17
I prefer the Naui courses... SSI has a good program also. Some complain the Padi programs are a bit too simplified - but if you search Padi Naui SSI on this forum, you will find a ton of posts - and the over riding comment is the individual instructor makes a much larger difference than the acronym on the card.

Ditto to what Larry said. The real question that people looking to get into scuba should ask is not which agency should I choose but how should I choose a scuba instructor. Here are some things to ask.

Cost
How much does it cost. Yes, you can't put a cost on good instruction, but you don't want to feel put off from the sport from the very beginning if you get hit with a lot of hidden costs.

Does the class require you to buy a full set of gear or just mask, fin and snorkel? How much are the books? Are the OW dives included or are they extra?

Instruction