PDA

View Full Version : Delayed SMB and Reel

Judestudio
07-10-2007, 20:53
Newbie here, just trying to learn.

How do you use a delayed SMB and reel properly? When do you use them?

I see them around all the time, I guess I'm too "baby" to be told by my fellow "senior" tech divers what they are and how they're used. But I wanna find out smileys/smiley1.gif

Storm
07-10-2007, 23:34
They are sent from the bottom or depth to use as marker for surface support or as a reference by the diver.
<div>They can be inflated oraly through a valve, by a LP hose, by inserting a 2nd stage or similar into an open bottom or exhaling intoan open bottom.</div>
<div>The procedures can be tricky. There are some links around but I cannot access them right now.</div>
<div>I do predominantly drift diving, and if you seperate from the towed float, you want to send a marker up. </div>
<div>It is not pretty when I do it, but I manage. I carry 2. A 3 footer and a 6 footer. The smaller ones are easier. Less gas to impact buoyancy</div>

Here's a video of a DSMB deployment.

http://www.zippyvideos.com/4875554891223826/smbdeploy/

I carry one and a surface sausage. The trickiest part for me is remembering to exhale while inflating the DSMB. I find it helps with offsetting the additional buoyancy caused by the DSMB.

Blindref757
07-11-2007, 01:22
Cool Video! Thanks Storm for sharing that.

Sawatdee
07-11-2007, 10:27
We normally deploy them from our first deco stops. That is to alert the boat of where we are so that it will follow us while we drift during the deco.
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>We usually carry 2,1 orange and 1 yellow. The yellow onesignals trouble. I inflate them from my octopus or the exhaust of my regulator.</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>There are some more training videos in youtube, try searching the keyword SMB or lift bag deploy.</DIV>

DallasNewbie
07-11-2007, 15:37