PDA

View Full Version : What primary light do you use?

Devin27
06-18-2008, 23:16
Wanted to get a idea of what lights are good primary lights at the lower end of the price range, under $150ish. Im diving in Hawaii for m advanced cert in a few weeks and I need some lights. Has anyone tried the Princeton Tec Led or Miniwave Led? thoughts?

I also would like to know about backups and any good tips for night diving first timers

Devin

buddhasummer
06-19-2008, 00:01
Hmm Im afraid at that price you are possibly going to be rather limited in "good" primary dive light selection, although Im no expert. It also depends on what you define as "good" and under what conditions you will be using the light, I like a robust, bright, common batteries and long running time, I only do OW and use the DR LED 500 as a primary, all things considered its a pretty good buy at around $360, I use a Solus Backup which is pretty exy at around $280. Maybe something by PrincetonTec or UK? Oxycheqs Raider? Im sure someone else will be able to recommend something that fits your budget. If you have the time look at various threads in the Light forum there are often many recommendations made by people with first had experiance with a variety of lights. Good luck.

rawalker
06-19-2008, 00:14
I use a Princeton Tec Miniwav LED it's a 4C model. It can be purchased for less than $90 I'm happy with the choice.

whitworthsa
06-19-2008, 01:35
I've heard good things about the oxycheq raider 3W LED. Think it'll be the one I go for. Only needs 3 AA batteries so the run time is relatively short.

Ryanh1801
06-19-2008, 02:36
I use a UK light cannon HID light that I got on Ebay for cheap.

Z-naught
06-19-2008, 02:37