PDA

View Full Version : A570IS Canon



JCAT
07-07-2008, 09:20
Does anybody know how large a memory card can be used with this camera?

thanks for any info

waytooslow
07-07-2008, 09:28
4 GB

now if you use CHDK, you might be limited to 2GB, depends on card.

waytooslow
07-07-2008, 13:14
I have a 16GB on mine. Does anyone know if a card larger than 4GB can be made bootable for the CHDK program?

canon specs a 4gb as biggest supported.

CHDK may work, depends on card. I know Transcend SDHC 4gigs are can be made bootable.

here is the method I used on a 4gig
-----------------------------

Used this utility for making cards bootable and loading as well as formating cardtricks125.exe - 0.37MB created by whim THX (http://www.zshare.net/download/103255945a3d05ff/)

Install utility, You will need a card reader - Insert the card you want to add the hack to, run cardtricks125.exe.

Format the card using - cardtricks125.exe (this may take awhile depending on card size). - Note a alert will appear, read but wait on doing (something about locking card)

After formatting. Select "make card Bootable" - this will happen quickly, then "Load CHDK" button in upper right , locate the 1.00C ZIP file, select and it will add a file ending with .BIN. to the card

Eject card, and lock by moving the slider on side. insert in camrea - Should boot under chdk.
---------------------------------

Let me know if it works on a larger card?