PDA

View Full Version : equipment

sravin1
07-18-2008, 13:36
Hi,

I am a newbie trying to get my own equipment (guess you hear this a lot). Anyway, I did some research for the past week and figured out the stuff that I think I want to buy. I am 5 10 and I weigh 155-160 pounds.

It would be great if you could advise me on the gear I have chosen (I know gears are based on personal preference but..) I am looking for any serious flaws with thes if any or any serious concerns or in general what to expect.

BCD: Oceanic Islander (medium)
Reg: Oceanic GT3 CDX5 with DVT
Octo: Oceanic slim line 2
Computer: Oceanic Veo 100nx 2 guage console.

Thanks in advance

Sriram

digitalman
07-18-2008, 13:51
Hi,

I am a newbie trying to get my own equipment (guess you hear this a lot). Anyway, I did some research for the past week and figured out the stuff that I think I want to buy. I am 5 10 and I weigh 155-160 pounds.

It would be great if you could advise me on the gear I have chosen (I know gears are based on personal preference but..) I am looking for any serious flaws with thes if any or any serious concerns or in general what to expect.

BCD: Oceanic Islander (medium)
Reg: Oceanic GT3 CDX5 with DVT
Octo: Oceanic slim line 2
Computer: Oceanic Veo 100nx 2 guage console.

Thanks in advance

Sriram

Call ST and have them build it as a package to save some $$.

reactive
07-18-2008, 13:56
Looks good! Buying new gear is fun stuff!

Sansho
07-18-2008, 17:31
Oceanic makes good gear, and that looks like a good selection to begin with. Agree that you call ST and get a package price, as you'll save a few dineros. The CDX5 is an environmentally-sealed 1st stage, which will be handy if you dive below 45 or so.

sravin1
07-18-2008, 19:02
Is the veo 100nx necessary? I dont plan on getting a nitrox certification soon. should I go with a non nitrox comp or just get the veo as an investment for the future?