PDA

View Full Version : Taking a non certifided diver out

jamie b1111
07-23-2008, 02:04
I think I am going to stir out some controversy with this but I occasionally take my non certified friends out on a shallow mini pony bottle dive to show them the fun of scuba diving. It is mostly a snorkeling adventure without the choking on water experience. I am not a dive instructor but I have been diving for about 17 years and I feel I am taking my friends into a better situation than almost every dive "instruction" I have seen. I take some friends into 4-5 feet of water and I have been criticized that people can embolize in 4 feet of water. I do tell my friends about the dangers and joys of scuba and tell them not to hold their breaths and not to inhale deeply.... too keep them safe in the shallows. I will now only take people into only 3.5 feet so I don't put them in danger but I wonder about all the "resort" dives I have seen where the dive master has little control over the "divers" in the group and I wonder why I haven't heard about people over inflating their lungs in shallow water. I have seen plenty of divers holding their breaths unintentionally in the top 5 feet of an ascent so I am wondering what it takes to hurt yourself in shallow water. I am new to this forum and I would like to hear if any of you have advice or experiences that can help. I am ready to hear the criticism as well so please tell me what you think.

oddbod
07-23-2008, 03:20
I've taken my kids out, and with a bit of basic instruction (probably more than some resort courses I've seen ) can see no real harm in a short and shallow swim. A friend, non diver and chronic asthmatic, has one of those surface supplied things in a float which supplies 2 divers to 5 m ( I think) he uses it and lets anyone else around have a go at it too, so what difference would using a tank instead be?

CompuDude
07-23-2008, 04:13