PDA

View Full Version : What to Buy

srhtech
07-23-2008, 11:11
I am new to diving and underwater photography. I am looking for a camera system that I can build from. I am looking for something up to $1,000. I was looking at the Sea Life DC600 system with a wide angle lens a strobe and soem other accessories. Is this a good system or should I look into soemthing else.

For land cameras I use a Canon POwer Shot SD1000 and Canon Rebel. Not real sure that I would want to go the housing route but if it is better I would consider.

devildog
07-27-2008, 08:59
I own a DC600 and chosse it because I belived that A company that does only underwater would be the best pick but now I am not sure I made the best pick. It takes great pictures but the battery life on this camera is not very good. I have to keep three battery's charged for each dive day. I have spoken to other divers that went with more main stream camera and underwater housing. They have said that they do not the battery problem. On a dive in Belize, a diver had a Canon set up and only used 50% of his battery life on two tanks. He took about 75pics and some videos. I would check Olympus, Sony and Canon.

Sansho
07-27-2008, 09:09
While there is quite a variety of choices, I would go with a Canon SD870, a Canon housing, and a strobe. The SD870 has a wide angle lens, Canon housings are very good, and to take pictures in deeper water, you need a strobe. That setup would run around $1000, with the strobe being the most expensive part of the package. I'll be getting the SD870 and Canon housing before a trip later this year to Australia.

I also have a Rebel XT, however, the housings I've seen for them are expensive, and not cost competitive with the 870/housing combination. I'm not sure I want to lug an XT-sized housing underwater, and if the housing leaked, I'd rather lose the 870 than the XT.