PDA

View Full Version : OW Class- Tip the Instructor/Divemaster?

trekkindave
07-31-2008, 11:29
Hi everyone,

I am about to go for my open water check outs and was wondering if there is a customary tip for the instructor and DM at the end of the check outs for the help they gave you.. If so. what is appropriate?

Thanks for the Help.

dallasdivergirl
07-31-2008, 11:39
it's good to tip the dive masters, they are generally out there working for free or next to free.

I would check & see if there is anything you can bring to help out....water, cokes, plates... that helps the instructors defer any costs like that they incur.

Foo2
07-31-2008, 11:44
I tipped my DM but not my instructor. I've seen other people say that they tip $10 per tank.

chinacat46
07-31-2008, 11:56
I'm an instructor and I tell my students that the second rule of diving(1st being don't hold your breath) is to tip your divemasters on dive trips. I also tell them that doesn't apply to training. If you want to buy them a beer after class though I wouldn't turn it down.

gregor
07-31-2008, 11:56
When working classes, as a DM, i never expected a tip, even though i wasn't getting paid for the time i was working, i just didn't think any tip was expected from the customer. I really don't think it's a "mandatory" kind of thing, like you'd see on a dive boat. If you are in an OW class and the DM goes "above and beyond" then sure a tip would be greatly appreciated.

sravin1
07-31-2008, 12:00
I'm an instructor and I tell my students that the second rule of diving(1st being don't hold your breath) is to tip your divemasters on dive trips. I also tell them that doesn't apply to training. If you want to buy them a beer after class though I wouldn't turn it down.

I totally agree. I dont like to tip people that teach me. I feel like I am insulting them with the tip. but thats my opinion...

bassplayer
07-31-2008, 12:08