PDA

View Full Version : Uh Oh What did I do?

KimkiD
08-07-2008, 08:38
I went diving last night in a local quarry and stayed relatively shallow (between 20 and 10 feet deep) and when I went to 20 from 10 feet I had a little difficulty equalizing my ears but it wasn't that bad.

Today I can hear everything on the inside of my mouth perfectly...its almost amplified. Chewing is painfully loud. Yawning sounds like I am in a wind tunnel. Just opening my mouth causes a series of pops and cracks.

So, what did I do?

ReefHound
08-07-2008, 08:45
I am not a doctor. If the problem persists more than a day or two, see a doctor to make sure everything is OK. I wonder if you could have water inside the eardrum. Sometimes people can perforate the ear drum and not realize it.

Lulubelle
08-07-2008, 08:52
This has happened to me before too. No worries. Get some swimmer's ear drops, use them to try to dry the fluid out. Do got to the doc if it doesn't clear up in a couple of days. Go sooner if you have pain or fever.

Yes, I have some expertise in ears, but since I can't see yours, this is just friendly advice, not medical advice!

wgt
08-07-2008, 09:19
I went diving last night in a local quarry and stayed relatively shallow (between 20 and 10 feet deep) and when I went to 20 from 10 feet I had a little difficulty equalizing my ears but it wasn't that bad.

Today I can hear everything on the inside of my mouth perfectly...its almost amplified. Chewing is painfully loud. Yawning sounds like I am in a wind tunnel. Just opening my mouth causes a series of pops and cracks.

So, what did I do?

Please do a test for me...have a friend read something to you over the phone. Then repeat the exercise, placing the phone next to the other ear. Compare the sensitivities of each ear to the speech sounds broadcast over the telephone. Please report back with the results of the comparison.

KimkiD
08-07-2008, 10:49