PDA

View Full Version : Scubapro

j1b
08-17-2008, 22:08
Good evening all,

I'm very new to diving. Some of you saw my intro, I live in Arkansas and will end up mostly diving Beaver Lake and the Carribean on vacation.

Couple of quick question, some of which have been hashed out in these forums already.

First, Scubapro. I'd love to hear the pros and cons of the company. I am a name brand type of guy so that appeals to me but I want the honest facts in terms of if the product is worth it. I know they only sell through LDS's so I know that eliminates the online world - curious for thoughts on that as well.

Speaking of LDS. There's a deal down there now I would be interested in knowing if it's a good deal or if my money could be better spent. It's all scubapro product. The regulator is MK25/S600. The BC system is their Glide Plus. I can't remember on the octopus, it was either the R295 or R395. I know that doesn't help much . . .

The SPG I don't remember and can't find online. It's not a Uwatec (by Scubapro). It was a good SPG with 3 guages, Pressure, depth and a compass.

So all of this: BC, Reg, Octo, and console for $1400.

That felt like a good deal to me. They had plenty of cheaper packages, but this one felt like I was getting decent things for the $$$. Not being able to buy most of it online though had me wondering if this really is a good deal. And, to be honest, are there comparable deals out there in different brands that would be cheaper?

I still have a dive computer and wet suit to buy, along with a dive knife and light and whatever other accessories come along with. And the $200 bag I'll need to buy in order to travel with this stuff.

I'm willing to spend the money if it's a good deal. But would appreciate some counsel before spending the bank.

Thanks in advance!

Jack

Daz
08-17-2008, 22:51
Good evening all,

I'm very new to diving. Some of you saw my intro, I live in Arkansas and will end up mostly diving Beaver Lake and the Carribean on vacation.