PDA

View Full Version : Local Visibility Beaver Lake Arkansas

j1b
08-17-2008, 22:15
I'm new to diving. Last weekend I got my OW card.

I dive Beaver Lake in NW arkansas.

The visibility last weekend was pretty rough. 6-8 feet at most. I've heard it's cleared up to 12'. I'm thinking about doing the AOW next weekend so we'll see (or won't see I guess)

I'm just curious, is this year a typical year for the lakes around here? Feels like vis is very poor. I'm hearing a standard year is 20-30'. That would give me a much higher comfort level with diving more regularly. As it is now the lakes would simply be a means to blow bubbles and the fun diving would be in the carribean. Yeah that works, but I'd like to believe I could enjoy some of the diving locally.

Any of you locals that have been diving this year and in years past I'd appreciate understanding how this year differs from years past.

Two more things: We shore dove from only one spot. Are there multiple decent shore dive spots on Beaver? We dove up by the Dam

And last - when you all first started diving how did you find buddies? I'm caught in a quandry. I need equipment to dive. But I need a buddy to dive. No buddy and I can't dive which then doesn't justify the equipment. But no equipment and I can't really dive either. Either way, I know I can buy the equipment. The buddy thing seems harder to find.

Thanks

jack

snagel
08-18-2008, 05:09
I haven't dove Beaver, but pretty much every other lake in the midwest. This year is a very odd year due to all the rain and flooding in the earlier spring. Currently, things are starting to clear up and in fact Table Rock is starting to come back fairly nice. Don't give up there is good diving in the midwest, this year is not typical.