PDA

View Full Version : you need a spool?

larryjoe
08-29-2008, 18:15
"you need a spool and you need to know how to use it." I saw this quote on an older post about safety items to carry with you and I do not know about spools. I think they were also saying something about lift bags, I do not know what they are either. Yes I'm a green newbie. Any help would be appreciated.

"Thankyouverymuch"
lj

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
08-29-2008, 18:20
Be careful. Bag shooting is an 'advanced' skill. Get some experience first. Don't mess with lines and lift bags for while. It's a great way to end up tangled and in an uncontrolled ascent. When you are ready- practice, practice, practice in a 'safe' environment before trying it when you really need to.

JahJahwarrior
08-29-2008, 19:12
A spool is the most simple way to carry line. Similar to a spool is a reel. Reels involve putting something like a spool (same kind of idea, but generally a smaller hole in the center, as it does not need to accomodate a finger, only an axle) on an axle, and adding a handle to it so you can reel in line. A spool is much more jam proof and cheaper.

http://tdl.divebiz.net/images/spool-spec.jpg

That is an example of a spool. The actual use of a spool is goal-specific and largely directed by personal preference.

My advice: buy a spool and then get someone to show you how to use it. But first, get comfortable in the water. Hard to focus on a spool if you aren't good at holding your spot in the water.

lift bags, submersible marker bouys (SMB's) and the like are important to have on ocean dives so you can be found if lost, or you surface far from the boat. I dive in freshwater caves and as such I have almost no need for an SMB, so I do not carry one. On the other hand, I carry three reels and two spools :D

Splitlip
08-29-2008, 19:24
What Jahjah and Joe said.

I do ocean drift diving.
One of my DSMB's (delayed surface marker buoy) pre-rigged with a spool.