PDA

View Full Version : Why I suggested this fish tank.

mrbheagney
09-01-2008, 15:42
I am a Marine Biologist as well as a diver and that's why I felt this kind of place was really missing from the discussion boards. Working in the industry I often come across people who say they have had a boring dive and that really grinds my gears, especially since I am always working in the tropics. I see every dive I go on as a classroom lesson in the University of Marine Biology. my teachers are the animals that I observe, their behaviour and their interaction with each other and their environment. I like to learn something new on every dive I go on and it is always possible - especially in the tropics with so much going on. Although there is usually some life in any given body of water, especially your bath tub. Just to ID a particular fish I have never seen before or observe something interesting like a Trumpetfish Shadowing a larger Grouper to sneak up on unsuspecting prey. Just a few months ago I inspected the underside of a large sea cucumber in search of small shrimps and I found a beautifully patterned little crab. Feeling threatened by my camera it rushed directly to the anus of its much larger host and held on for dear life. I try to imagine how the sea cucumber must have been feeling about these little clamps on it's bottom. I have attached a picture of the aforementioned ass bandit in his luxurious hideout for your enjoyment. The underwater world really is an amazing place if you try hard to look that little bit closer. Understanding the world beneath the waves makes it a much more enjoyable place. I will keep this thread updated with more animal stories as I come across them. Thanks for creating this discussion area Larry. Thanks for looking too.

DevilDiver
09-01-2008, 18:16