PDA

View Full Version : OW - then what

murdoch
09-02-2008, 14:54
Hi
I am a complete beginner :smiley9:

I will do my OW dives next weekend and am very excited...
Hopefully all goes well and I passed - I thought the pool section was tons of fun.

So assuming I pass my OW - then what? I would like to stick with an experienced buddy initially rather than friends from class (this is a good idea right :smiley36:)

How do I go about finding a buddy with lots of experience who won't be bored to tears going on some beginner dives? Should I hire an instructor? Or would that be overkill? I plan on taking more classes but figure I need some more practical experience first...
What did you do?

Also for fun - what was the first piece of equipment you bought for yourself (other than the boots, fins, mask, snorkle for class)?

Thanks!

Vercingetorix
09-02-2008, 15:04
First piece of equipment was the regulator. In fact, I bought it even before OW class.

As for finding a buddy: join a SCUBA dive club, if there's one in your local area. Hiring an instructor just to be a buddy is overkill. You can go with a classmate; just stay with shallow dives until you're comfortable in the watery environment.

After OW, did AOW to get more supervised diving.

Have fun and welcome to the sport.

mwhities
09-02-2008, 15:06
Welcome to ScubaToys and the underwater world (once you do the check out dives.)

I would recommend to go diving and enjoy it. Don't move to fast and go beyond your current skills. Master buoyancy and get your trim working right. After 50 or more (I'd say 100 rec dives.) then look to get your AOW and possibly nitrox before or after.

Ask your instructor to teach you about gas management. I'd say that's the one thing I wish I'd been taught. If not in OW, at the very least AOW.