PDA

View Full Version : non-Scuba activities

namabiru
08-13-2007, 20:29
So what non-Scuba activities do people do to keep in shape and/or enjoy life?

I'm into martial arts. I practice kendo and iaido, and I will probably have to pick up another art when I move to Qatar.

thesmoothdome
08-13-2007, 20:34
20 years ago I studied an Okinowan form called Wado Kai. Way too old and beat up for full contact stuff anymore though. Now, it's quiet stuff. Mt. biking, jogging, skiing, diving, golf. I'd like to start doing brazillian jui jitsu, but doubt my body will hold up through it.

WV Diver
08-13-2007, 20:55
I like to mix it up. Raquetball, running, lap swims, biking, volleyball.

ParrotHead
08-13-2007, 21:45
I've dusted off our Nordic Track (skier) - it does a great job on getting my kicking muscles back in shape. And the cardio isn't bad either. 30+ minutes every other day.

techgnostic
08-14-2007, 00:56
Boxing, skiing, climbing, kayaking, hiking, racquetball, darts, volleyball, whatever sport...I love them all.

namabiru
08-14-2007, 10:51
I wish I could jog, but I wrecked my knees playing volleyball in high school. The impact just kills me, even with good shoes. I have found, though, that I really like the elliptical machine. I can do pseudo-running without the stress on my knees. Unfortunately, there's no elliptical around here...

Osprey
08-14-2007, 14:35
My knees got goofed up when I was in 6th grade (I jumped off of a very tall wall, when I hit the ground my knees sucked up all the impact cause my dumb@$$ didn't roll), so I enjoy just kicking around in a pool. I also enjoy yoga, and weight lifting (or using gym bikes if it's a lazy day)

fire diver
08-14-2007, 15:21

I'm into martial arts. I practice kendo and iaido, and I will probably have to pick up another art when I move to Qatar.

Why not just keep practicing what you know, and try to take it to the mastery level? I could spend a lifetime practicing the first kata, and never master it.

FD

torrey