PDA

View Full Version : Tax write off for gear?

warscout2
09-29-2008, 22:14
So there are 2 ways i think i might be able to write of some of my gear. First im a rescue diver and i think i should be able to write off my new wetsuit because i bought it for this. Secondly i wounder if i could write off other gear once im an instructor? I know that i need to go talk to my CPA but does anyone have any idea i this.

kong
09-29-2008, 23:06
It really depends on how you do your taxes.

If you are classified as an independent contractor instead of an employee and receive a 1099 instead of a W-2 then you can claim the income as business income instead of regular wages. This opens up a whole bag of goodies. You can deduct reasonable business expenses (equipment, home office deduction if you have an area of your house/apartment set aside just for scuba stuff and doing business, meals with clients, portion of cell phone bill related to clients, mileage (currently $.585 per mile) in certain situations or actual operating expenses.) The best part is that a business can generate a loss so you can have a "loss" from your scuba business and use it to offset income from other sources (day job).

If you are classified as an employee, then you can deduct unreimbursed job related expenses subject to certain limits. This is an itemized deduction, so it will only work if you already itemize your deductions. Most people who own a home itemize their deductions because of the allowance for mortgage interest and property taxes while those who rent normally take the standard deduction, but everyone is different based on their situation.

Most shops would probably want you to be an independent contractor so that they don't have to worry about payroll taxes and the liability issue isn't as big as with employees.

ReefHound
09-29-2008, 23:26