PDA

View Full Version : First Underwater Photo's

Bill22
08-15-2007, 00:40
I just started in U/W photography, so I thought I might start a thread on some of my experiences as I go. Although not a complete beginner in photography, I am as far as the U/W side of it is.

I became interested in Photography when I was a teenager. I had a friend who had his own darkroom setup and I still remember the first time I developed my own pictures... I was hooked!

After taking two semesters of Photography in high school and a stint as the chief photographer for my high school paper and yearbook, I joined the US Navy. I was a US Navy Photographer for almost 10 years. After leaving the Navy, I went to college for a couple of years, then went to work for the photographic services contractor at Cape Canaveral. I worked on the space program from 1988-1998. We did still photography, video, high-speed motion picture and photo-optical tracking. After that I was a photolab manager for almost two years.

My job now is completely unrelated to photography and the last five years I've really only been doing personal stuff. Most of it would probably fall into the category of Travel Photography, since I've been doing a lot of travelling. I'm presently 20 semester hours away from completing my BA in Photography (gotta get around to finishing that some day :-)) So that's my background in photography.

I became interesed in scuba diving when I was a kid. I grew up watching "Sea Hunt" re-run's on TV. I was a big reader when I was a kid and I came across a book called "The Silent World" written by Jacques Cousteau. I also remember watching his TV specials when I was a kid and he was a hero of mine when I was young.