PDA

View Full Version : educate me on tank fills?

Ladyvalea
10-11-2008, 00:25
Ok I'm a newbie on tank fills.. huh....I get my tank filled at my LDS I think it was to 3000psi? so I take it to CSSP and dive for about 45 mins and get the tank to 500psi ...we get out and take a rest for about 20mins and my hubby takes the tank to get refilled at the CSSP tank station
So I get ready to dive again and my new tank fill reads 2300psi something like that? I don't remember now...but is there a reason the man did not fill the tank closer to the 3000 psi ??? I Not being cheap?? Huh???

is there a rule in tank fills? to close to the end of a dive? something about being hot?? these were 80 alu tanks thanks

fire diver
10-11-2008, 02:56
Sounds like you just got a short fill. If they fill your tank too quickly, it gets hot. once the tank cools down, especially after hitting the water, it colls down and shows the real amount of fill.

When I fill my own tanks, I usually lose about 200-300 PSI, 700 is a lot. I would have asked to be toppped off before the dive.

Grin
10-11-2008, 06:43
When I pick my tanks up I always grab a pressure gauge and see what's in them. Due to the heat thing they might have 2800-3300. Usually they are right around 3000, but it's nice to know if you got a good fill(3300:smiley20:). And if it's not at 3000, just show them, and they'll be glad to bring it up to 3000 for you, right then and there.
When i first started diving I just trusted them and I ended up with situations like this one on rare occasion. It could be your tank leaked down due to a bad valve or more likely a valve not cranked off all the way, or the tank filler could have shorted you my mistake. You'll never know if you don't check when you pick your tanks up. I've rigged a new tank and then went to turn the valve on and nothing :smiley29:. It happens! And guessing is usually all you have to go on.

SynCitizen
10-11-2008, 09:19