PDA

View Full Version : Joint Pain

BarbadosSlim93
10-18-2008, 19:47
I have something odd I have noticed lately. I have had pain in a few of my joints, mainly my left ankle and both knees. They feel almost like growing pains that I got when I was a kid. Some nights the pain is so bad that I have to try and find a way to numb the pain.

The odd thing about this joint pain is that I recently realized when I am in water of some sort like a pool or shower my joints do not hurt anymore. When I got to do my try scuba experience I felt amazing (as well as relaxed). Does anyone know why my joints feel so much better when they are submersed in water?

crosseyed95
10-21-2008, 09:28
I'm not a doctor but I've been involved in professional swimming and aquatics for a good part of my life. Here's what I can say:

Physical therapists use water therapy for many forms of rehab. While in the water, you eliminate gravity which takes pressure off the joints. You also have the ability to flex your joints (and muscles) using motions you may not normally use. Because water offers resistance, this helps build strength. The resistance also slows down the motion which helps prevent injury.

By flexing your joints in a controlled manner, you will eliminate stiffness from them which in turn will offer relief from the pain.

I'm sure a doctor could provide a more in-depth answer but hope I've helped.

crosseyed95

dmccarver1
10-21-2008, 10:32
We need to know where specifically the pain is,ie patella (knee cap), the bump just below the knee cap(tibial tubercle), inside or outside of the knee, is is painful to touch, inside or outside of the ankle, or front of the ankle, etc. How old are you, what activities are you doing daily, etc.

scubamarc
10-21-2008, 11:01
Does your back hurt anywhere, I had pains like this for a long time and noticed it was a pinched nerve.

shawnwill36
10-21-2008, 11:17