PDA

View Full Version : Intova=boo!

megzuwo
10-21-2008, 10:01
Ha, I believe my title explains part of my issue. Where I'm currently deployed we have a LDS that I actually work at on the weekends. It's great, love it, except we have one option and one option only for a digital underwater camera, the Intova 800.

Now, I'm a professional videographer (fill in as photographer) for the military and have been working with such equipment for 6 years now, so I know I can take a fairly decent photo with no issues--especially not focus issues. While at work I took out and played with our newest installment of the Intova's and they're TERRIBLE! I cannot get the color right above water, how the heck can you fix it below?! Not only that but I can take a photo of a completely stationary object, ie: the masks hanging on display, and it's as fuzzy as if I forgot the flash and decided to run laps on the floor-room. And with all my might, trust me, I have tried to get a fish to hold still just so I can look at it, sqirmy bastards, but I have this deep set feeling that they just won't cooperate for my little personal camera.

While the military has issued me some ovelry-fancy underwater equpiment, it's huge, bulkey, and not mine so I thought I'd get my own underwater camera for just fun dives. My long winded crying above pretty much is me asking: Have I gone pathetic on simply point-and-clicks? Or is the Intova 800 really that bad? (I tried almost ALL of the camera's at the shop). And if so, can I trust buying the Nikon Underwater Digital Camera for sale on ST? I really am a fan of beign able to later buy a wide-angle-conversion lens for it.

I'm a terrible skeptic at online-buying and trusting things, but thanks to Uncle Sam and my deployment it's almost become a necessity. Thanks for any help!!!

rawalker
10-21-2008, 12:27
Thanks for the review I was interested in weather that setup was worth the price. Too bad it specs out nice features but doesn't deliver quality photography.