PDA

View Full Version : Good Dive Spots In Michigan For Beginners

BarbadosSlim93
10-28-2008, 20:39
Hi all. I am new to diving and will be certified soon. I was wondering if anyone could suggest and good spots for a beginner to hit in Michigan. I live in Midland and am curious to see what you have to suggest.

obrules15
10-29-2008, 08:06
Hi all. I am new to diving and will be certified soon. I was wondering if anyone could suggest and good spots for a beginner to hit in Michigan. I live in Midland and am curious to see what you have to suggest.

I live near you and my favorite places to dive in Michigan are Cozumel, MX and Roatan Bay, HN. :smiley20: I think that the problem is that some of the cool stuff here is deep and cold.

gNats
10-29-2008, 08:21
Welcome to Michigan Diving!

I am in the Metro Detroit area and relatively new to Michigan diving also. I'm really not sure what options you will have near Midland - check with a local dive shop for advice.

However,

There are tons of diving opportunities in the Great Lakes - you should consider the wreck diving course as early as possible next season to take advantage of these dives. Also, I know of a lot of people who dive in the rivers near Port Huron. These are just a squosh more advanced than beginner, mostly because of depth or current.

I only know of one state park that has scuba diving - Island Lake. It's near Brighton.

Myself, I have been making the 1.5-2 hr trek to Ohio. There are 3 quarries in the Northwest portion of Ohio that are dedicated to divers and are great ways to meet other divers. Lots to see at each site and there is camping either on site or nearby and local area motels/eateries.

The quarries in Ohio have given me an opportunity to work on boyancy and technique in a relatively controlled environment. Viz may not always be the greatest, but the water is pretty calm and still.