PDA

View Full Version : back up



Jaymeany
08-17-2007, 18:58
What does everyone use for a back up for your computer? if you don't sound off that way too. I I trying to decide if I need a depth gauge on my dive watch or just a rotating bezel. If you can't tell from my multiple questions all over teh board I am a new diver and researching before buying. Thanks!

NitroWill
08-17-2007, 19:01
If you have a wrist computer, best way for redundancy and backup is to have at least a (small) spg clipped off to your hip ring..Wouldn't hurt to have depth too.That way if your computer fails, your dive(s) can continue..

deepdiver47
08-17-2007, 19:45
Another computer. I use a Mosquito as my backup. It used to be my primary until I bought my Vyper.
I dive 3-4 per day for 6-7 days straight. So I need a real backup as I dive long Nitrox dives.

texdiveguy
08-17-2007, 19:49
Either a second identical dive computer or a electronic dive watch or a bottom timer.

Centerius
08-17-2007, 20:20
I use the Tusa SCA 230T Compact Analog Gauge
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/gauges/pics/tusa/sca230T.jpg
(http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=TusaSCA230T)

It's nice and small and doesn't get in the way.

NitroWill
08-17-2007, 20:21
I use the Tusa SCA 230T Compact Analog Gauge
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/gauges/pics/tusa/sca230T.jpg
(http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=TusaSCA230T)

It's nice and small and doesn't get in the way.

Yep, ditto on that same thing :smiley20:

Splitlip
08-17-2007, 21:57
To answer the OP.
There are a number of dive watches out there which will track depth.

Of course. If you're going to wear a watch, one with depth a gauge is better.

I have 3 computers. They are all non AI. I use a brass and glass SPG on a 26" hose.
Normally I wear 1 computer but my watch doubles as a depth guage and dive timer. I have had 3 computer failures. 2 at depth. Did not thumb the dive and never ruined my day because I had a depth gauge and timer on my other wrist and just used my tables.

Splitlip
08-17-2007, 22:01
Another computer. I use a Mosquito as my backup. It used to be my primary until I bought my Vyper.
I dive 3-4 per day for 6-7 days straight. So I need a real backup as I dive long Nitrox dives.

If I know I am diving more than 2 dives in 24 hours, I wear a backup computer

ertechsg
08-18-2007, 00:18
I dive a vt pro wrist mount and don't use a back up if it should malfuction (which it never has)then I can get to the top with my buddy's computer. this is stricly for recreational diving no rambo diving. the chances of dcs is way to slim

cummings66
08-19-2007, 08:27
I don't use a backup, I can get back up with what I carry and by using the environment. Once up depending on the dive I may end up going home or reverting to tables.

If you read some prior postings to me in a Nitrox thread you can see where I would have had to go home because my dives were so far off the tables that they melted. Not all my dives are that way.

As to DCS being a slim possibility, think again. Anybody can get DCI on a recreational dive without exceeding tables, and it's happened. It's not just rambo divers who get this, DCI doesn't choose whom to afflict.

Phestr
08-19-2007, 09:06
I have an Oceanic GEO, which is wrist, nonintegrated. So I also carry a Maxdepth SWIV with a compass. Since I was gonna have to have an SPG anyway, I just stayed with the whole console. It's pretty small.
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/gauges/pics/oceanic/maxdepth.jpg

MxDiver
08-19-2007, 13:51
I have an Oceanic GEO, which is wrist, nonintegrated. So I also carry a Maxdepth SWIV with a compass. Since I was gonna have to have an SPG anyway, I just stayed with the whole console. It's pretty small.

That's the same console I got, that and a watch is the only backup I carry at the time.