PDA

View Full Version : Gauges - compass or no compass: that is the question now.

Sasha_K
08-17-2007, 20:22
I am getting my very fist reg one of these days and wanted to get an opinion on the gauges and the options I should check out. The main concern is compass or no compass. I am a beginner diver, hoping to pass some advanced courses next year. I heard I need a gauge with compass (or some kind of compass) to pass some of those advanced courses. The compass seems to add at least $50 to the same brand/model gauge. As I am on budget the question is:

- Do I just get the whole pressure/depth/compass gauge now or later?

If I get the depth/pressure gauge now, I will likely have to get some wrist compass / dive computer later on , which could be a ‘significant’ expense. Or, from your experience, am I going to have to get the wrist computer anyways later on in my ‘diving career’, so may as well save some money on unnecessary gauges.

Thanks in advance,

ScubaToys Larry
08-17-2007, 20:29
I'd tell you if you get the Aeris gauge console: http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=AerisAnalogGauges

There is a spot in the back that has a little piece of plastic there. You can use it as a mini slate. And then when you want to add a compass module, ($34.95 http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=CompassMod) you just pop out the plastic and drop in the compass. And then for $15 you can get a wrist boot and move it from wrist to console depending where you want it.

That would be versatile and not cost much to start.

thesmoothdome
08-17-2007, 20:32
Depends on how you develop as a diver. I'm one of the few who prefer consoles. Seems like consoles sell very well, but everyone dislikes them...shrug. :anim_rolleyes:. Anyway, you should get a compass. Even if you're not proficient at using it yet, you may just want to shoot a bearing and swim for the boat or shore with it.

Illini_Fan
08-17-2007, 20:32