PDA

View Full Version : Valid rant, or my imagination

dvinnola
11-26-2008, 11:10
I was reading through a copy of Scuba Diving magazine, and they had an article about 'top gear of 2008' or something. There is not on Zeagle product mentioned. Now, I am a new diver (only 25 dives) and I only have 2 Zeagle products (brigade and SMB), so I am not a gear expert. I am not naive either. I know advertising plays a big role. So, my question is this: Does Zeagle not have a piece of gear in the tops for 2008, or did they not release anything new in 2008 (was 2007 a banner year), or does Scuba Diving just rate the companies that advertise?

awap
11-26-2008, 11:23
Scuba Diving magazine should be used with caution. They are not an unbiased source of much of the information they present. It may just mean that Zeagle did not pay them enough for such an advertisement.

fireflock
11-26-2008, 11:29
Scuba Diving magazine should be used with caution. They are not an unbiased source of much of the information they present. It may just mean that Zeagle did not pay them enough for such an advertisement.

I know where this attitude comes from, but I don't think it's true for this mag these days.

The rankings can be subjective, and they really favor new products. I bet some of the stuff Zeagle introduced at DEMA last month will make next years list.

Rich

MSilvia
11-26-2008, 12:14
Whatever the reasons Zeagle wasn't included, Scuba Diving magazine's "Top Gear" articles are only representative of their opinions of the gear they looked at, and shouldn't be considered authoratative or exhaustive.

There's a lot of good gear that doesn't get much mention there.

dvinnola
11-26-2008, 12:23