PDA

View Full Version : Love My LDS!!-Buuut...

itry2fly
08-19-2007, 22:16
New to diving, we had done our research on diving equipment online-pricing, reviews, etc. We visited all of the LDS in the area (the ones that were not run out of a van) and discovered something. WE LOVE DIVERS!! The community of people seem to be the nicest and most helpful of any sport/activity I've ever encountered. My wife and I commented after every LDS visit about how nice and helpful everyone was, and how genuinely passionate they seemed about diving. Their enthusiasm is contagious and greatly appreciated. As a private pilot, I can attest to the "snottiness" you can get with people in other sports, and diving seems to be on it's own with the great people we've met. Having said that, this is where the weirdness comes to play. After a few LDS visits, we decided that we would pick a LDS and basically stick with them for equipment and certification since after going into a few shops and merely MENTIONING another LDS would send some of the owners into some weird trance. You could almost see the process in their mind of how to convince you that those "other" places weren't as good as them, their equipment was generic, etc.