PDA

View Full Version : Wreck diving certification

tfriend
01-27-2009, 11:09
I am kind of new to the diving world. I was wondering if you have to have a wreck certification if you are going to go wreck diving. Me and some buddies are planning a dive to lake michigan to dive the madiera. Its not that far down and we just wanna check it out. Is there any problem with that. Has anyone ever been there? Whats it like?
Thanks!

MSilvia
01-27-2009, 11:31
You don't need any special certification to dive a shipwreck, although if you aren't familiar with nautical stuff, it might help you understand what you're looking at.

On the other hand, if you plan on going inside a shipwreck, you definately should get wreck PENETRATION training. That is often not part of a "wreck diving specialty" class.

CompuDude
01-27-2009, 11:37
I am kind of new to the diving world. I was wondering if you have to have a wreck certification if you are going to go wreck diving. Me and some buddies are planning a dive to lake michigan to dive the madiera. Its not that far down and we just wanna check it out. Is there any problem with that. Has anyone ever been there? Whats it like?
Thanks!

In addition to what Matt said, just be careful of currents, and be very cautious around any openings in the wreck. Particularly with larger wrecks, currents can sometimes cause strong suction effects at the openings (doors, windows, etc) that can actually suck an unwary diver into the boat.

Be sure to bring a good light. Wrecks are often dark, especially in nooks and crannies, and you want to be able to see the thing, after all!

JCAT
01-27-2009, 11:52
Why not take the opportunity to take class with these guys (http://www.scubacenter.com/wreck_diver.htm). They train and dive on this wreck.

I don't know your diving experience, but if your new, then a little formal knowledge will be worth it and add to your enjoyment. Later, you can take more in-depth training from other agencies and instructors.