PDA

View Full Version : Looking for volunteers to test Dive Computer Library

AndyDragon
02-01-2009, 22:26
I am a software developer and I am working on an open-source, cross-platform dive computer downloader library for third-party applications to be able to download dive profiles WITHOUT using the OEM software. There are two main reasons for this.

First, we all know most of the OEM software is...well...software written by hardware guys. I've been in the software industry for a long time and one thing is a recurring pattern. Hardware guys often make brilliant hardware but less than stellar software which hampers their hardware.

The second reason is cross-platform support. What the heck is that? Most OEM software is written for (and only for) Windows. While this makes perfect business sense due the proliferation of Windows, that leaves those with Macs and Linux to dual-boot or run virtual machines or any number of strange machinations to get the dives downloaded.

I am current affiliated with one other team working on the same stuff. Their work is in C/C++ and my work is in C#/.Net/Mono. Or goals are the same and it's nice working with them.

So, what do we need at this point? People to test the downloader library using simple tools that will download the dive computer's memory and pass those on to us. The more dumps we have, the better our accuracy becomes. Where ever there is personal information, either the software will fill that with blanks or we do it manually when necessary. Also, the library is a read-only library - it makes NO writes and/or changes to the computer.

If you interested is helping out, send me a PM and I'll send some instructions on how to contribute. While the goal is to support many computers, at this point I am concentrating on the Pelagic line of computers (Oceanic, Aeris, Sherwood, Genesis, Hollis) and the older Suunto computers (Vyper, Cobra, Vytec).

reactive
03-30-2009, 22:10