PDA

View Full Version : New Suunto Dive Manager Software



gNats
03-12-2009, 13:58
Wow. I had to go to the Suunto site today and I found out that Suunto has developed and released a new version of Dive Manager (2.7.0).

I haven't loaded any log data into it, but the website graphics and write up lead me to believe that there are some great enhancements from 2.6.0.

I use Vista, and 2.7.0 is Vista approved.

Just passing it on.

gNat

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
03-12-2009, 14:23
Wow. I had to go to the Suunto site today and I found out that Suunto has developed and released a new version of Dive Manager (2.7.0).

I haven't loaded any log data into it, but the website graphics and write up lead me to believe that there are some great enhancements from 2.6.0.

I use Vista, and 2.7.0 is Vista approved.

Just passing it on.

gNat

Thanks!

MxDiver
03-12-2009, 15:04
Thanks
Here is the link (http://www.suunto.com/suunto/main/article_1column.jsp?CONTENT%3C%3Ecnt_id=1013419867 3939767&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=9852723697223448&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442490400&bmUID=1112534073470) for anyone interested

CompuDude
03-12-2009, 15:08
Now if only they'd release a Mac version. ;)

(Nothing again DiveLog, but actual manufacturer support is nice, too)

cbope
03-12-2009, 15:11
I noticed the new version a few weeks ago and installed it, unfortunately I still haven't bought the USB cable for my D6. Maybe this weekend...

:smiley13:

Rainer
03-12-2009, 15:19
Seriously, a Mac version is exactly what's needed...

cbope
03-12-2009, 15:22
... or you need to get yourself a REAL computer!

:smilie40::smilie40::smilie40:

(let the flame wars begin)


Seriously, a Mac version is exactly what's needed...

Rainer
03-12-2009, 15:23
Yeah, like one with Vista?

Yawn.

cbope
03-12-2009, 15:29
Who said anything about bleeping Vista? :smiley11:


Yeah, like one with Vista?

Yawn.

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
03-12-2009, 15:31
Yeah, like one with Vista?

Yawn.


:smilie39:

I work for a software company - there's no way in Hell we're going to switch to Vista until forced. I do notice Macs making inroads, but unfortunately we're pretty tied up with Microsloth for a lot of things.

cbope
03-12-2009, 15:43
Yeah, well I can top that. I manage a team of software developers and our company is an MCP (Microsoft Certified Partner). I still won't touch Vista with a 10 ft pole. Unfortunately, we have to make software that runs in Vista because, well, MS won't let you easily get XP anymore. At least Win7 looks to be a huge improvement over Vista so far...

I'm hoping MS learned their lesson with Vista.



Yeah, like one with Vista?

Yawn.


:smilie39:

I work for a software company - there's no way in Hell we're going to switch to Vista until forced. I do notice Macs making inroads, but unfortunately we're pretty tied up with Microsloth for a lot of things.

DMWiz
03-14-2009, 22:37
Now if only they'd release a Mac version. ;)

(Nothing again DiveLog, but actual manufacturer support is nice, too)

SDM is so ugly I don't know that they can make a decent Mac version, but in the mean time it runs fairly well on this Macbook:

4345

rawalker
03-15-2009, 02:56
I'm told from reliable sources that Vista 64 bit version is much better than the 32 bit version but I am also waiting on Win7.
As for Mac versions please get real! Either get a Mac that runs windows or realize that Macs will always be second class where software developers are concerned. Linux has a much better chance of surpassing Windows. The bottom line is the PC is a superior platform even if Macs have a nice operating system.

cbope
03-15-2009, 05:05
Not trying to get too OT here, but yes 64-bit Vista is far superior to the 32-bit version. That is, IF you can get device drivers for all your hardware. You cannot use 32-bit drivers in 64-bit Vista and this has been one of the painful points of migrating to 64-bit Windows. If you can get 64-bit drivers for all your devices, then 64-bit Vista is not a bad choice.

I'd have to disagree about Linux surpassing Mac in the near future. Yes, it's getting better all the time and it's a very solid and extensible OS, but until there is a unified desktop for Linux it just won't happen. Macs have been taking a LOT of Windows market share in the past couple years. And no, I'm not biased against Linux... I'm a heavy user of it and I have a bunch of machines running various Linux distributions. Until Joe Sixpack can just "get Linux", it's just not going to surpass anything on the typical home user's desktop or laptop machine.


I'm told from reliable sources that Vista 64 bit version is much better than the 32 bit version but I am also waiting on Win7.
As for Mac versions please get real! Either get a Mac that runs windows or realize that Macs will always be second class where software developers are concerned. Linux has a much better chance of surpassing Windows. The bottom line is the PC is a superior platform even if Macs have a nice operating system.

gotwake
03-15-2009, 15:29
I wish they had a Mac version too. As far as Win vs Mac wars, I have both a PC and a Macbook Pro. It's nice not having virus and spyware protection programs running in the background. Windows 7 will have to do a lot better than Vista for me not to consider another Mac. Linux surpassing either Windows or OS X..... now that's funny. :smilie39:

CFDAlden
03-15-2009, 23:43
I wonder if the new version is more stable than the older software. I'll give it a shot.

John Henry
06-07-2009, 09:59
glad I found this. Just bought the Suunto cable and disk today. it is 2.6, and it sucks. Not happy with it at all.

Travelnsj
06-07-2009, 10:07
I like the old 1.6 version, I find entering data to be easier. Since I have a Cobra I download it into 1.6 then import into 2.7. I do not even bother to download the D9 into 2.7.

John Henry
06-07-2009, 10:16
now that I have downloaded 2.7, it isnt recognizing the device. Reloaded the USB drivers provided with the original disk (2.6) still nothing.

I hate computers (laptop, not dive computer)

cbope
06-07-2009, 12:05
Strange, I upgraded from 2.6 to 2.7, no problems. Although I have a D6 I don't use the Suunto cable, found a cheaper cable from Germany. Did you reboot after installation of SDM or the USB drivers? Sometimes it helps. You might try disconnecting the USB cable from your PC and giving it a reboot, then plug in the cable after everything has finished loading after reboot. Then fire up SDM.

If it still doesn't work, check your device manager and see if there are any unrecognized USB devices or devices with a yellow exclamation mark. Keep the USB cable plugged into the USB port when you do this.


now that I have downloaded 2.7, it isnt recognizing the device. Reloaded the USB drivers provided with the original disk (2.6) still nothing.

I hate computers (laptop, not dive computer)

John Henry
06-07-2009, 17:17
I got it to recognize the Cobra. But I am still not pleased with the printing. It only prints in landscape, although the document clearly seems to be portrait. The bottom legend of the dive profile is cut off, as is the bottom of the tissue saturation chart.

I am sure there is a work around, but I can't find it.

Also, it always comes up as two pages, with the first always being completely blank, except for a Suunto label.

John Henry
06-13-2009, 11:23
I am also surprised this software doesnt keep a running tally of your total bottom time. Would really like to see this software graduate in to an actual dive log page, which keeps time. I imagine other brands are already doing that.

This software is disappointing to say the least!

K9Pig
06-13-2009, 23:59
Thanks
Here is the link (http://www.suunto.com/suunto/main/article_1column.jsp?CONTENT%3C%3Ecnt_id=1013419867 3939767&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=9852723697223448&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442490400&bmUID=1112534073470) for anyone interested


GREAT... I have been waiting.. Thank You!!!

Skred
06-14-2009, 12:06
Although I have a D6 I don't use the Suunto cable, found a cheaper cable from Germany.

Care to share the info on this cheaper cable and how/where to acquire it?

cbope
06-14-2009, 14:45
His site is here: Smartinterface - Ihr Webshop für Tauchzubehör (http://www.smartinterface.de/artikel.php?id=31&kat=1&PHPSESSID=6cf3cfeba418f387abef4c82f1f799e0)

(this is a link to the D series cable page)

Unfortunately it's only in German. I believe he also sells via ebay. The price is 35 euros, which is roughly 45-50 bucks. Even though I don't speak German I managed to place an order via the above site, not too difficult to figure it out with a little help from an online translator.

MxDiver
06-14-2009, 15:21
Although I have a D6 I don't use the Suunto cable, found a cheaper cable from Germany.

Care to share the info on this cheaper cable and how/where to acquire it?

The seller name in e-bay is: jonnywalker_de
Here is the link to a current auction for a cable:
USB PC-Interface SUUNTO D4, D6 und D9 - eBay (item 380130402154 end time Jun-17-09 11:04:38 PDT) (http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-PC-Interface-SUUNTO-D4-D6-und-D9_W0QQitemZ380130402154QQihZ025QQcategoryZ50882QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
That is where I got my cable.

Skred
06-14-2009, 16:39
Thanks. Much appreciated! :smiley20: