PDA

View Full Version : Data Cables?



Vlane
03-15-2009, 13:37
I bought me an Oceanic Geo (haven't gotten a chance to use it yet though :(), and was thinking about the data cable. Seems a little ridiculous to pay about $90 for a cable but i like the idea of keeping a digital dive log so to speak.

So, what you all think about data cables?

FishFood
03-15-2009, 13:53
If ST's still sells the cables at cost when you buy a computer, I would get one if buying from them. Other wise, for my diving, I don't see a good benefit/cost ratio. My dive log is already in Excel...

I'm curious to see what the tec/advanced divers think, however. Any benefits to post dive analysis when doing deco, etc?

cbope
03-15-2009, 14:06
I voted yes, but with a caveat. I haven't bought a cable for my Suunto D6 yet. But I'm definitely going to get one in the near future.

Heavy D
03-15-2009, 17:29
I voted yes as well but not as much for the log as for the dive profile. You can tell a lot about your buoyancy skills and such. If it's air integrated, then you can tell even more from it.

This is part of the reason that I like the newer Scubapro/Uwatec computers though. They are IR and don't require a cable just an IR interface for the computer. Of course if you get the SP one it will cost you a fortune, but it will actually work with pretty much any IR adapter.

CWSWine
03-15-2009, 18:22
I bought me an Oceanic Geo (haven't gotten a chance to use it yet though :(), and was thinking about the data cable. Seems a little ridiculous to pay about $90 for a cable but i like the idea of keeping a digital dive log so to speak.

So, what you all think about data cables?

I agree 90.00 bucks is a lot money for the cable and software. If it was me, I had a choice of buying the cable or another piece of life support like regulator I would put off the cable purchase and put the money toward life support gear. The cable and the extra data is a luxury item but it nice to be able to see you dive profile and all the other info and makes logging dives easy. That said I have a Wisdom II and Manta and purchased cables for both of them and I’m looking at the new Zeagle computer.

rawalker
03-15-2009, 18:42
I find it to be a valuable tool. I do use AI computers. The Oceanic Atom 2.0 and VT3. You seem to be coming on board at the right time. Oceanic has a beta of their Oceanlog software that finally works as advertized.
I use the software to track the equipment I use which makes a nice database to check configurations for differing dive profiles and environments. It allows for adding notes and pictures to the log which can help jog the memory.
One thing to consider whether it be a software package or scrapes of paper logs are only as good the the person entering the information into it. If you don't enter useful info don't expect it to help. The longer you wait to enter the info the greater the posibilty that your memory may be faulty. Having the downloader and software just makes it easier to enter more complete info.

Vlane
03-15-2009, 20:04
I've already got almost all of my stuff together for my first dive in my own gear. Only thing i have left to get is some weights, but think i already know what i'm going to get. Not going to buy a tank just yet since i don't how much i'm going to get to dive so the only other thing i would put the money to is a dive light or just save it.

Most of you that that are suggesting the cable seem almost like tech divers or someone who does cool profiles. Unfortunately i'm landlocked so i only have easy access to a local lake and other places that are over an hour away. I may wait on cable until i at least get my AOW or maybe even nitrox.

CFDAlden
03-15-2009, 23:45
I also voted yes, but try and find an aftermarket cable. The cable for my GekkoVyper was half the price of Suuntos, including shipping from Germany.

navyhmc
03-16-2009, 02:07
I have a Geo and bought the cable, I also have a Pro Plus II and got the cable with it when I bought it. IMO, it is a good investment. Think your trim was good and you were traveling at a constant depth? The profile will give you a good idea of that. The other data that goes along with it is nice as well. I amy not always check the temp at depth, but going back to the download, it's there.

To me it was worth the money.

chicken
03-16-2009, 05:34
I wish there was an option for kind of worth it. I have a cable for my Wisdom 2 and do look at my dive profile and SAC rate. I like having the log on my computer but $90 for a USB cable? The cable for my N2ition is $140 and I am stuggling wether to buy it or not.

navyhmc
03-16-2009, 05:37
Another option is to look at the different types of cables and co-opt as much as possible. MyGeo cable fits a number of other Oceanis, Aeris and other computers, the same thing for the one that fits my PPII.

cummings66
03-16-2009, 07:28
Oceanic has a beta of their Oceanlog software that finally works as advertized.

Really, Is it the beta 2.2.4 beta 030309? At least I was able to fix my dive gear config finally. Temperature problem still exists for me, ie all the temps report for example 44 degrees on my last dive. Yet they were not and the log even shows it being different, except for the data screen that tells you the temps, times, dive points, etc. Still buggy but better. Now the print feature could be improved, ie a template would be nice.

CWSWine
03-16-2009, 07:31
Another option is to look at the different types of cables and co-opt as much as possible. MyGeo cable fits a number of other Oceanis, Aeris and other computers, the same thing for the one that fits my PPII.

ST sent me a Oceanis cable for my Aeris and they don't play well together. We found that Oceanis Geo does not work the Aeris Manta, give a error message as being a incorrect cable - I don't know it the Aeris works with the Oceanis or not or if other models work together!

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
03-16-2009, 08:02
I bought a used cable for cheap. I like to be able to see my profiles afterward. If I was a typical caribean reef vacation diver, I don't think it would be worth it. But since I dive all the time and try to continuously improve my skills, I find the feedback of the actual profiles versus the planned profiles useful.

Vlane
03-16-2009, 11:18
Hmmm, you guys area making me have second thoughts about not getting it. Anyone had any luck using an off-brand cable on the geo?

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
03-16-2009, 11:24
I dunno- Sounds like you are on a budget. Personally, I would not buy the cable if it meant not doing some diving due to budget issues. It would be better to spend the money on air fills if its one or the other. Do 60-80 dives and then revisit the issue. You should know more about what you want from your diving by then.

No Misses
03-16-2009, 11:33
I am too lazy to keep a log. The download gives me an easy way to keep track of my dives. Assuming that I do a download before the information gets overwritten with new dive data. My DC holds something like 10 hrs of dive time.

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
03-16-2009, 11:40
I am too lazy to keep a log. The download gives me an easy way to keep track of my dives. Assuming that I do a download before the information gets overwritten with new dive data. My DC holds something like 10 hrs of dive time.


That is another plus, but at 0-24 dives, it's probably best to be logging them all by hand anyway.

CompuDude
03-16-2009, 13:57
The Geo is not AI, so there's only so much info you'll get out of downloading the info from it. Profile info is somewhat handy and can be interesting, but if you're really only doing 30' dives in the same lake the majority of the time, I'd definitely put it in the "gear to pick up one of these days but not now" column. Take your time, try to find a third-party aftermarket cable, or a used one, etc.

With AI computers, the benefit comes from the ability to track your SAC rate over time, which, combined with looking over profiles, can help you see when in a dive your breathing rate went up and things of that nature. Also tracks tank pressure for you so you don't have to record by hand. With a non-AI computer, pretty much all you get out of it is the pretty graph, which is cool, but other than checking your ascent rates and such, seems of considerably less value to me.

cbope
03-16-2009, 14:09
I'm not sure what a GekkoVyper is... :smiley36: but do you remember where in Germany you got the cable from? I need a cable for my Suunto D6 and Germany's pretty close for me.


I also voted yes, but try and find an aftermarket cable. The cable for my GekkoVyper was half the price of Suuntos, including shipping from Germany.

Damselfish
03-16-2009, 14:20
they meant Gekko/Vyper, 2 models of Suunto computers. Could have been this (http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-PC-Interface-SUUNTO-Vyper-Vytec-Cobra-Gekko-D3_W0QQitemZ380111084372QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defa ultDomain_0?hash=item380111084372&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50) cable which is the one I bought, works fine. Same person advertises one for the D6 here (http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-PC-Interface-SUUNTO-D4-D6-und-D9_W0QQitemZ380110102408QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defa ultDomain_0?hash=item380110102408&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50).

CompuDude
03-16-2009, 14:20
I'm not sure what a GekkoVyper is... :smiley36: but do you remember where in Germany you got the cable from? I need a cable for my Suunto D6 and Germany's pretty close for me.


I also voted yes, but try and find an aftermarket cable. The cable for my GekkoVyper was half the price of Suuntos, including shipping from Germany.

He's referring to a hacked Gekko... you can hack a gekko with the firmware from a vyper to enable downloading from an otherwise non-downloadable gekko.

http://forum.scubatoys.com/computers-gauges/15547-how-suunto-gekko-download-conversion.html

This guy on eBay (http://myworld.ebay.com/jonnywalker_de/) sells the aftermarket cables.

Edit: Also here: Smartinterface - Ihr Webshop für Tauchzubehör (http://www.smartinterface.de/index.php?kat=1)

MxDiver
03-16-2009, 14:28
I got my data cable from Germany as well (trough ebay). Here is the link to a current auction (USB PC-Interface SUUNTO D4, D6 und D9 - eBay (item 380110102408 end time Mar-19-09 02:03:27 PDT))

CFDAlden
03-16-2009, 23:17
I'm not sure what a GekkoVyper is... :smiley36: but do you remember where in Germany you got the cable from? I need a cable for my Suunto D6 and Germany's pretty close for me.


I also voted yes, but try and find an aftermarket cable. The cable for my GekkoVyper was half the price of Suuntos, including shipping from Germany.

I converted my Gekko into a Vyper. Well, It's not a true Vyper, but is does allow the Gekko to download to the SDM software. :)

(edit - what everyone else said above. I just hit the "quote" button)

USB PC-Interface SUUNTO Vyper Vytec Cobra Gekko D3 - eBay (item 380111084372 end time Mar-19-09 09:35:56 PDT) (http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-PC-Interface-SUUNTO-Vyper-Vytec-Cobra-Gekko-D3_W0QQitemZ380111084372QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defa ultDomain_0?hash=item380111084372&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50)

Travman
03-17-2009, 21:45
I just bought a Uwatec and it uses Infrared, so don't need any special data cable just an infrared port (which most laptops have).

oddbod
03-17-2009, 22:12
I am too lazy to write a log book, got an aftermarket cable from germany for my Cobra, works great.

cbope
03-18-2009, 14:14
Perfect... this cable is only 35€ direct from Germany. Exactly half the price of the Suunto D6 cable from my LDS. I'll be ordering one of these.


they meant Gekko/Vyper, 2 models of Suunto computers. Could have been this (http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-PC-Interface-SUUNTO-Vyper-Vytec-Cobra-Gekko-D3_W0QQitemZ380111084372QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defa ultDomain_0?hash=item380111084372&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50) cable which is the one I bought, works fine. Same person advertises one for the D6 here (http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-PC-Interface-SUUNTO-D4-D6-und-D9_W0QQitemZ380110102408QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defa ultDomain_0?hash=item380110102408&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50).

rawalker
03-18-2009, 19:56
Oceanic has a beta of their Oceanlog software that finally works as advertized.

Really, Is it the beta 2.2.4 beta 030309? At least I was able to fix my dive gear config finally. Temperature problem still exists for me, ie all the temps report for example 44 degrees on my last dive. Yet they were not and the log even shows it being different, except for the data screen that tells you the temps, times, dive points, etc. Still buggy but better. Now the print feature could be improved, ie a template would be nice.

I'm guessing you mean under the Location heading. Those fields are for you to edit. The computer tracks the minimum temperture and so that is what it enters. It's up to you to enter the corrected values.
That's because there is no accurate way for the computer to get the air temp or surface temp. The computer doesn't start tracking data until after it reachs a few feet of depth and ends at about the same point before the surface so it isn't actually tracking air or surface temperature. At least that is my thought on it. I've had no trouble editing the fields and that is what I consider them there for. So unless you have another problem with the software I consider it as functioning properly. I generally use an average of the first reported temperture and the last reported as my surface temp. I find this to be accurate enough for my uses.

dominikos
03-19-2009, 19:17
I did some research lately on data cables for Sunnto computers. They are not only fairly cheap but you can also get open source software to go with them.

Unfortunately, I have an old Cochrane and their software is way too expensive :(

- Dominik

wmcyow
03-23-2009, 07:29
If you can shop around and find a good deal (ST gave me a really good deal) - I think it's worth the money. (Of course - I am a geek that loves gadgets).

clararhb
03-23-2009, 21:11
I had to vote no but was on the edge. I bought one for a Atmos 2. Since I am pretty good about logging everything I don't get much use from it. However it has been a useful toy.

setesh
03-23-2009, 22:22
I voted yes but I got my cable from ST for $50 with my Atmos. If I had to pay 90 for it I would probably have spent my money on something else.

CFDAlden
03-24-2009, 01:07
I voted yes but I got my cable from ST for $50 with my Atmos. If I had to pay 90 for it I would probably have spent my money on something else.


Agreed. If I had to pay Suunto pricing, I would not have bothered. $100 by the time taxes are thrown in. Thats a couple of charters!

mitsuguy
03-24-2009, 03:16
I got mine from ST for about half what they retail for when I purchased my GEO(s)... A very worthwhile purchase I think... When I don't get a chance to log dives every day (we've done 4 in a day here), it's sometimes hard to remember things like surface temp, what kind of profile it was, what was n2 loading like for the dive, etc... Plus it calculates SAC rate if you input starting and ending pressures, and of course tank size/rated pressure.

The downloader for the GEO/Manta are the same from what I've read and seen. When I had a Veo and Atmos 2, they also both used the same downloader...

Keep an eye out for a used one, IMO...

cbope
04-16-2009, 08:57
I got my D6 data cable from Germany this week (smartinterface.de). The quality seems to be very good and it works fine with my Suunto. For anyone looking for a less expensive data cable for Suunto comps, I can definitely recommend this one.

BSea
04-16-2009, 10:23
I voted yes, but if it hadn't been included with my Aeris T3, then I wouldn't have 1. Yes , I think it's fun, but I wouldn't spend the extra money. I think it's more important to log your divers & give a short report of the dive. Especially if it's something you want to remember. I didn't log dives for many years, and most of my early dives were 1 line entries. Many I don't even remember making. So for what it's worth, take a few minutes to write down something about each dive. In 30 years, you'll be glad you did.