PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with floaty feet..

Wrayne
08-23-2007, 00:11
Hi everyone, I'm new here and have a question. Does anyone else have a problem with their feet flying up in the water? This is when I'm wearing the neoprene booties and fins, wetsuit and full gear. Normally it's not a problem and I can push my feet down, so I'm wondering if it's the booties or fins being so buoyant, or should I let some air out of my BC? I am totally new at this, trying to get my OW certification, and any help will be much appreciated! :smiley5:

TAH 73
08-23-2007, 07:59
If you have the ability try pushing the tank a little lower on the tank straps, this will sit the bottom of the tank lower and make you less "head heavy" and should allow you get more balanced.
If that does not work, they do make ankle weights that would resolve your issue with floaty feet as well.

WV Diver
08-23-2007, 08:16
00The booties and the fins could both be a little buoyant. Typically hard soled booties are less likely to have positive buoyancy issues. You can purchase your fins either of the positive or negative buoyancy variety depending on your needs.

You should speak with your instructor about this issue or if there is a Divers Direct or similar store close by someone there can help you. Actually just give Joe or Larry a call and they can tell you which set up will be more negatively bouyant.

Otherwise, ankle wieghts come in one and two pound varieties normally. I would advise that, this is a last resort for a new diver. Wait until you have 20 or 30 dives to get comfortable before you go to ankle weights if you can. They can make you uncomfortable if you have to make long surface swims or work against currents getting back to the boat. Most folks can get along fine without the ankle weights, unless they are diving dry, with the proper equipment. I would try to get the correct bootie and fin configuration for you before I would suggest just grabbing ankle wreights.

Good luck.

greyzen