PDA

View Full Version : How to un-stink boots

awmurray
08-23-2007, 08:54
I'm new to diving and so far I've only been in the local quarries. After diving, I make sure to rinse off everything with clean water. Everything dries up fine except the neoprene boots. Those sort of reek of rock quarry-- not a great smell.

In the past, I've soaked them while at work and then if they still stink I'd soak them the next day. It takes between 3-4 days of doing this to get them smelling OK again.

So, is there a secret? How do you guys clean your boots and get them smelling tolerable again? It also seems to take forever for them to dry. I try to keep them upside down and open (to avoid mildew/fungus growth), but still it takes a long time. So, what are the secret methods?

ScubaToys Larry
08-23-2007, 08:57
This stuff works good http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=MiraZyme8oz It's an enzyme that eats the odor causing bacteria.

And to dry them... Just like KC and the Sunshine band explained:

Shake, Shake, Shake... Shake, Shake, Shake... Shake your bootie!

Just kidding... :smiley36:

(Been waiting to use that!)

Charlotte Smith
08-23-2007, 08:59
The Mirazime(sp) works great!

DarkCoffee
08-23-2007, 09:02
Boots always smell bad. You really want to get grossed out, leave your wet gear in a closed bag in the sun. :smiley13:

I rinse/bath/soak the boots in a 'Sink the stink' solution (or a neoprene cleanser solution) and add a touch (spoonful) of bleach to the bath.

Once the boots are truly *DRY* I give a squirt of 'Fabriz' fabric deodorizer to the inside (just a misting) and do a final drying before storing them away.

Lots of folk have their own rituals.. They all work. IMO, the real key is the drying

awmurray
08-23-2007, 09:03
This stuff works good http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=MiraZyme8oz It's an enzyme that eats the odor causing bacteria.

So how do you use it? Do you add a small amount to water and soak for x amount of time?

WV Diver