PDA

View Full Version : Equalization problems

lt.dan58
05-04-2009, 17:45
So im new to diving and I encountered a new experience to my ears called pressure... in a plane and car at high elevations i just swallow or chew gum... underwater i cant chew gum and swallowing dosent do anything... the first day was horrible i almost threw in the towel but i stuck it out and the next day it was better... not great but better... ive been told that if you take an Afrin type product it helps; ear drops; or just dive more often it helps.... is there any truth to these rumors?

DMWiz
05-04-2009, 18:06
I don't recommend taking anything to help you equalize, although many people do it. As you begin to dive more your eustachian tubes will begin to "clear" easier so just keep diving.

Begin to clear before you enter the water and do it often, before you feel the need to clear your ears.
If you can't equalize ascend a bit and try again and never do it forcefully.
Proper technique and regularity will do it every time.

Bob-B
05-04-2009, 18:23
Most of the time I can drop like a rock and have no trouble with clearing my ears. But....... sometimes they can give me fits.

Most of the time I try to clear while I am still on the boat, or above water. Then again after I am under a few feet. Once I get past about 20 feet than I can clear with no trouble by just blowing a little pressure into my mask. That helps my ears and also keeps the mask comfortable on my face.

When I have trouble it is usually near the surface. If you can't get it to clear, you don't want to go any deeper. Most of the time I can just stop or raise up a little and can get my ears to "Pop"

You should always be careful with any medication you take and dive with. I know that some decongestants will raise your heart rate, and Blood pressure as will as clearing your sinus.

As I take medication to help keep my Blood Pressure under control, I am aware of this, but you might want to talk to your Doctor and ask him.