PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Looking for advice on Pony Bottle

Chilkie
05-08-2009, 08:48
Hello. I'm a safety first kind of guy so I've decided to purchase a pony bottle system in case of emergency (equipment failure, my own or someone else's stupidity, etc.). I've been looking at a lot of the posts on here trying to figure out what exactly I need.
Is there a preconfigured set up which can be purchased with a 19 Ft. bottle (which seems to be the consensus minimum)? I know that you can "piecemeal it together", but as a newbie I'm a bit nervous about doing so.
Also, I am unclear as to what different connection types are available to fill them with. Aren't they simply filled at your LDS when you fill your standard tank?

I also have a question about the "spare air" systems, which I understand are limited by their small volume. I am interested in purchasing one in addition to my pony bottle because I am told you can travel with them. I do not expect it to get me to the surface on it's own from 100 ft (although some posters say it can do so) but I wish to have something extra with me when I have been "buddied up" with someone I do not know, just in case. What needs to be done to take them on a plane? I take it that they need to be completely emptied. Anything else? Also, do people get a hard time taking them through the security gate at the airport? What about if they are in checked baggage?
Thank you all in advance for your responses.

No Misses
05-08-2009, 09:53
You will get a bunch of different "perfect Set up" responses.

Here is mine.
AL19 ( I prefer brushed AL as opposed to paint)19 Cubic Foot Pony Bottle reviews and discounts, Catalina (http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=AL19)
Zeagle Pony Straps Zeagle Pony Bottle Attachment reviews and discounts, Zeagle (http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=ZeaglePonyBottleAttachment)