PDA

View Full Version : Corrective vision masks...?

Cichlid
07-11-2007, 23:21
I'm just getting started and was wondering if anyone had any good
experiences with a specific brand/model of corrective vision
masks? Any suggestions would be great, thanks!

EDIT: I'm also worried about fitting, I don't want to order something that I can't take back. Any ideas?

CompuDude
07-12-2007, 01:49
1) Buy the mask you like, that fits you. (preferably a 2-pane mask, meaning one lens over each eye instead of one big pane of glass)

2) Contact http://www.prescriptiondivemasks.com (http://www.prescriptiondivemasks.com) to have them turn your mask into a perfect prescription mask.

Diver Dennis
07-12-2007, 09:51
I use Mares X-Visions with drop in lenses. Cheaper than full prescription masks and work well.

mmakay
07-12-2007, 09:58
I was lucky. Not only do I need Rx, but the mask that fits me best is the Sea Vision 2000. (It seams to fit lots of faces well ... definitely try one.) Sea Vision is one of the major suppliers of Rx lenses, and they custom ground a set for me that are perfect. Well worth the expense. I can now spot critters in the coral that most folks cruise past without a thought.

mmakay
07-12-2007, 10:00
I should add: My Rx includes astigmatism. Drop-in lenses are available in +/- correction only. So your particular needs will dictate the best solution for you.

CompuDude
07-12-2007, 10:44
I should add: My Rx includes astigmatism. Drop-in lenses are available in +/- correction only. So your particular needs will dictate the best solution for you.

This is true. I've had both... the drop in lenses and custom ground (from PDM, linked above). The drop in lenses are a lot cheaper, but tend to come in .5 increments starting at -1 and only going to a certain level. And no astigmatism correction.

Unless you have no astigmatism and your prescription happens to fall right on, you'll have to compromise.