PDA

View Full Version : need wet suit advice

talesin22
07-01-2009, 01:41
so im new to scuba and i am just starting to buy equipment i need. i took my measurments and have started looking at wet suits online to decide what kind/size i need. my problem is im not in any one size. 2 of my measurements put me in one size, 2 in another and one in a completely seperate one. which one should i be going with? my weight (130) and waist (31) put me in one size. my chest (38) and hips (37.5) puts me in next size up. but im 5'-3" which puts me 2 sizes down. its all very confusing. someone please help me find the right size for me!!!:smiley5:

mrmccoy
07-01-2009, 02:26
the best thing you could do is go to a dive shop and try different sizes on. I'm 6ft. and weigh around 160 so my biggest problem is finding a wetsuit that is tall enough and fits me everywhere else correctly.

I just noticed this was in the womens issues but the same idea applies to all

navyhmc
07-01-2009, 03:01
The ladies will chime in on this as well, but if you are indeed going to order off the rack so to speak, I would go with the larger of the sizes for several reasons: 1. a little loose is better than tight, especially in the chest-easier to breath underwater is always a good thing. 2. It allows for a little weight gain without comprimising fit.

If I were to prioritize your measurements for fit, I would go Chest=>Hips=>Waist=>Weight=>Height. The height will dictate more on the length of the ninseam and can either be modified/altered or just pulled up a little.

A lot also depends on your choice of thickness: a 3mm is a lot more forgiving than a 7mm

russp
07-01-2009, 12:28
My now wife had similar issues but on a taller scale (5'10"/??? pounds) and ended up in men's wetsuits that fit her just fine. She just had to try some on; she ended up with a different brand and size for her 2 mil shorty and her 3 mil full.

obrules15
07-01-2009, 16:10