PDA

View Full Version : Oceanic Geo - Reviews anyone?

Catastic
08-03-2009, 13:05
Hi. I just got certified and am planning to dive in Mexico in about a month. I am looking into buying an inexpensive (relatively speaking) dive computer and found that the Ocean Geo seems to have all the major features and then some.

Does anyone have any complaints with it or have it and love it?

TRiggER2117
08-03-2009, 13:08
well I looked at it in the closeout section for about 249.95 and after reading the reviews and such I had to order it!

I akready have it ordered and on its way. I cant wai t to get it wet :)

cmburch
08-03-2009, 13:28
I have a Geo. My complaint is it is not very intuitive for me to cycle through all the features. I have to hold a button down for a couple of seconds to see the temp and the buttons are not that easy to depress and hold with thick gloves. It works well otherwise. I have no experience with other wrist dive computers. I actually only use my computers as bottom timers to monitor depth, temperatures and elapsed time.

PTAaron
08-03-2009, 13:52
I love mine. I find the controls very simple to understand - once you learn what they all mean. I have had no trouble operating the buttons even with my thick cold water gloves (maybe the brand of gloves makes a difference?).
Alerts could be a little louder - hard to hear with a 7mm hood on, and it would be nice to have a visual display of ascent speed other than just a "slow down" alarm ... but those are minor complaints.

My father inlaw has a Mares M2 - and I can't figure out how to do anything on that computer!

CWSWine
08-03-2009, 14:02