PDA

View Full Version : How hard is it to dive in a dry suit?

Guyburger
07-12-2007, 07:47
I've recently been tempted to learn how to dive in a drysuit. I've always been a warm water Caribbean diver but I am making my first trip to the Pacific (Galapagos in September). I understand that Galapagos is not so cold as to demand a dry suit but I became intrigued by the drysuit concept researching what exposure protection was appropriate.
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>I've had some experienced dry suit divers tell me that diving in a drysuit was so different from diving wet that it was a totally different experience. I've had some divers with limited experience in a drysuit tell me it was the hardest thing they've ever tried to learn in diving. I like the feel of diving wet and if a drysuit changes that completely I'm not sure its for me. </DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>What are your experiences in learning to dive in a drysuit and how do you compare it to diving wet?</DIV>

cummings66
07-12-2007, 08:09
It is different, and IMO takes at least 10 dives to get the hang of it. I don't think you should be diving anything more than a shallow dive profile for the first couple dozen dives because the odd's of losing control of your buoyancy are pretty good.
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>At first most will hate it because it's that different. Then it grows on you and soon it's like diving the wetsuit. In fact for me I prefer it to a wetsuit, it's easier for me now. In the beginning it was more difficult, no lie there.</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>I suppose you could say there's a higher task loading to a drysuit and it's more dangerous, but after a while you'll catch on and it becomes fun again.</DIV>

Wolfie2012
07-12-2007, 09:32